It was formed by executive resolution in 1952 hence it is neither constitutional body nor statutory body.


Prime Minister of India [chairman] and includes all Union Ministers, Chief Ministers of all the States and Administrators of Union Territories and Members of the Planning Commission.


  1. to secure cooperation of the states in the execution of the plan
  2. to strengthen and mobilize the effort and resources of the nation in support of the Plan
  3. to promote common economic policies in all vital spheres and
  4. To ensure the balanced and rapid development of all parts of the country.

The functions of the Council are:

  1. to prescribe guidelines for the formulation of the National Plan, including the assessment of resources for the Plan;
  2. to consider the National Plan as formulated by the Planning Commission;
  3. To make an assessment of the resources those are required for implementing the Plan and to suggest measures for augmenting them.
  4. to consider important questions of social and economic policy affecting national development; and
  5. To review the working of the Plan from time to time and to recommend such measures as are necessary for achieving the aims and targets set out in the National Plan.
  6. To recommend measures for achievement of the aims and targets set out in the national Plan.

The draft 5 year plans of the planning commission were submitted for approval of the NDC before going to parliament. NDC is listed as an advisory body to the planning commission and its advice was not binding.


Score more than 80% marks and move ahead else stay back and read again!